2021 Film and Screenplay Competition Award Winners

Congratulations to the Award Winners

of Our 2021 Film and Screenplay Competition


Lifetime Achievement Award
Susan Seidelman

Grand Jury Prize – Documentary Feature
Any Given Day, directed by Margaret Byrne

Grand Jury Prize – Narrative Feature
Accidental Luxuriance of the Translucent Watery Rebus, directed by Dalibor Barić

Grand Jury Prize – Documentary Short
Alice: At Home With Alice Parker, directed by Eduardo Montes-Bradley

Grand Jury Prize – Narrative Short
Sproutland, directed by Cynthia Wade

Grand Jury Prize – Screenplay Competition
Flying Bird’s Diary by Melissa Tantaquidgeon Zobel

Best Documentary Feature
Those People, directed by Peter Huoppi

Best Narrative Feature
The Daphne Project, directed by Zora Iman Crews and Alec Tibaldi

Best Documentary Short
The Secret Gift, directed by Sheila Conlin

Best Narrative Short
Fort Trumbull, directed by Stephanie Jean Lane

Best International Film
The News, directed by Loren Terezi (Albania and Spain)

Human Rights Award
Missing in Brooks County, directed by Lisa Molomot and Jeff Bemiss

Best New Director
Kiki Tsakalakis, Silent Notes

Best New England Film
Keepers of the Land, directed by Matthew Andrew

Best Connecticut Film
Crosscourt Cultures: The Joseph Oyebog Story, directed by Emily Deluca

Best Conservation Film
Dead In The Water, directed by David Wittkower

Best Documentary Film Cinematography
Vinyl Nation, Sherri Kauk, director of photography

Best Narrative Film Cinematography
A Beautiful Curse, Philippe Kress, director of photography

Best Documentary Film Editing
Ronnie’s, Paul Trewartha, editor

Best Narrative Film Editing
Dr. Mania, Andrew Varenhorst, editor

Best Screenplay Narrative Feature
The Catch, Matthew Ys-Hsiung Balzer, writer

Best Screenplay Narrative Short
Forty Years From Now, John Manna, writer and director

Best Ensemble Cast
The Della Morte Sisters, directed by Bill Sorvino

Best Art Direction
Blu Cosette, co-directed by Andrew Le Pera and Ise White

Best Student Film
The Color of You, directed by Jacob Rodier

Best Director Student Film
Lily Weisberg, Studio 210

Best Screenplay Student Film
Citizen, directed by Marcus Parker-Wood

Audience Choice Award Documentary
The Rescue, directed by Chai Vasarhelyi and Jimmy Chin

Audience Choice Award Narrative
Woman Of The House, directed by Michelle Salcedo

Audience Choice Award Student Film
Firebird, directed by Carley Byers

Screenplay Competition Runners Up:

First Runner Up
Treasured by Bryce R. Breen

Second Runner Up
The Great Perhaps by Christine Vartoughian

Third Runner Up
She Don’t Fade by Peter Easton Johns 

Fourth Runner Up
A Native Land by Caitlin McCarthy